Parshall track teams’ performance stellar

4/16/10 (Fri)

Parshall track teams’ performance stellar
Braves teams take 7th, 9th respectively in Hazen invite


Parshall opened the outdoor track season last Friday with a bang, finishing seventh in the boys competition and ninth in the girls in the Hazen Invitational.
The boys scored 48 points, just a half-point shy of host Hazen and one point back of Beulah and Mott-Regent. Linton won the meet with 109, followed by Watford City and Dickinson Trinity.
The girls finished with 24 points, placing them ninth, 10 points back of Mott-Regent. Carrington took the title with 74 and was followed by Dickinson Trinity, Hazen, Beulah and Watford City.
Head coach Harlan Johnson was pleased with how his athletes did in their first outdoor competition in 2010.
“Kenny (Wells) qualified for state (in the 3200-meter run),” Johnson said. “He was lapping people by the time he was done.”
Wells ran the 3200 with blazing speed, finishing in 9:57.60 giving him 10 points and a state qualifying designator.
Clinton Senn of Beulah, who finished second, wasn’t even close. He was nearly 2 minutes behind Wells.
But that was only half of Wells’ production on this day. He also took first in the 1600 in a 4:48.49 time slot, finishing 11 seconds ahead of Carrington’s Easton Paige.
Jaren Enockson also took two first place events in the long jump and triple jump to pace the Braves.
His long jump of 21 feet, 5 ½ inches was not only a state qualifier, but is the longest jump in Class A or B in North Dakota thus far this season.
Tanner Purintun of Linton finished second but was nearly three feet short of Enockson’s mark.
Enockson’s triple jump of 42 feet, 5 inches, also bested Purintun by at least two feet.
Others performing well in Hazen, according to Johnson, were Trey Bruce, fourth-place in the 800-meter run and 11th in the 400-meter run, Scott Hale just missed scoring when he placed ninth in the 1600, but Hale is just a seventh grader.
Dexter Two Crow and Harrison Zacher also competed for Parshall. Two Crow and Zacher in the 100-meter dash and Two Crow in the 200.