April 16, 2014

Candidates named in city, county races

Petitions have been filed in all the elections set for this year, and there will be plenty of names to choose from throughout the county when the June 3 election hits.
At the county level, Auditor Shana Brost, Recorder Brenda Cook, Treasurer Darbie Berger, Sheriff Dean Danzeisen and State’s Attorney Jessica Binder are all running unopposed.
County Commissioners Frank Bitterman, Gary Murray and Wayne Entze have all filed their petitions for re-election. Wes Gunsch and Kirby Entze have also formally declared their intention to run for the open seats.
In Beulah, Mayor Darrell Bjerke and Councilors Brant Keller, Kathy Kelsch and Al Kok are running unopposed. Travis Frey and Ben Lenzen are running for the seats that will be left open when Councilors Bob Schutt and Larry Hruby finish out their terms.
Beulah Board of Education incumbents Dwight Hatzenbuhler and Jennifer Steffan are looking to hold onto their seats this year. Current board chairman Todd Wolstenholm did not file a petition for re-election. Also running are Shauna Pierce, Thad Zahn, Dan Ziman and Arnel Blood.
James Nelson and Robert Volk are running for election to the Beulah Park Board.
In Zap, three positions are up for re-election. They are for Mayor Terry Barden and Councilors Jane Opdahl and Rhonda Pfenning. A third empty position also needs to be filled. There was no confirmation of petitions filed in Zap at the time of this publication.

The Weather Network