November 6, 2008

History made: Obama elected President

Oliver County voters had their say Tuesday when they headed to the polls to cast their ballots in the 2008 General Election. The unofficial tally is in, with 1,054 ballots cast within the county’s seven precincts.

While County Auditor Barb Fleming said it was not a record turnout, it was a record in the number of absentee ballots. Deputy Auditor Janet Alderin said 304 ballot application requests were received, with 281 ballots returned and six absentee ballots still out as of the close of polls Tuesday night. The remaining 17 requests weren’t returned for a ballot.

History was made with the election of Barack Obama, the first African-American to be elected to the office of the President of the United States. In Oliver County, 332 voters cast their ballot for Obama, D-NPL, with 680 votes cast for John McCain, R, followed by 1 vote cast for Chuck Baldwin, 5 cast for Bob Barr, 20 cast for Ralph Nader and 4 write-in votes.

In the Oliver County Commission race for District 1, incumbent Kent Albers, running unopposed, retained his seat to serve a second term, receiving 868 votes, with 32 votes cast for various write-in candidates.

In the Oliver County Commission race for District 3, incumbent Dwaine Helmers, also running unopposed, received 846 votes and will retain his seat for a third term, with an additional 18 votes cast for write-in candidates.

Running unopposed, Michael Bauer won a seat on the Oliver County Soil Conservation District, receiving 864 votes, with 3 votes were cast for write-in candidates.


Unofficial election results for Oliver County

The Weather Network