September 25, 2008

Underwood to participate in Horizons III project

Underwood has been selected to participate in the third North Dakota Horizons community development project, a program facilitated by the NDSU Extension Service and funded by the Northwest Area Foundation of St. Paul, MN. The aim of the Horizons program is to reduce poverty and develop leadership in small rural communities in the upper Midwest. The communities selected have populations of 5,000 or less and a poverty rate of 10 percent or more. Other North Dakota communities currently taking part in this round of the Horizons project include Dunseith, Fordville, Hannaford, Lakota, Leeds, McClusky, Minnewaukan, Napoleon, Rolla, Sheldon, and Tolna. Past participants have included Anamoose, Bowdon, Cando, Cooperstown, Dodge, Gackle, Grant County, Harvey, Hazelton, Lidgerwood, Linton, Maddock, McKenzie County, New Town, Rock Lake, Rolette, Rutland, Sheyenne, Stanley, Steele, and Walhalla.



The Weather Network