January 27, 2016

B-H wrestles well at Wisness

By Jarann Johnson

The Beulah-Hazen wrestling team hasn’t been shy about mixing it up with the big boys of Class A and the state’s top programs in Class B. But last week’s Levi Wisness tournament offered the Beulah-Hazen team a chance to see where they stand in an exclusively Class B tournament aside from the Dickinson High JV program.
The Beulah-Hazen program showed they are poised for another strong year by winning four individual championships and placing 10 wrestlers overall.
For Jeremy Leintz (120) it was just another day at the office. The skilled wrestler and Class B state runner-up last year tossed aside his first opponent, Braetyn Yanish (Velva), with a 57-second pin. Leintz won his final match for championship honors because of a disqualification by CJ Thacker (Watford City).
Josh Snyder (145) added another championship performance to the day for Beulah-Hazen. Snyder won his first match with a 3:12 pin over Hunter Schwartzenberger (Watford City), but found a closer match in the tournament finals. Snyder won a close 4-3 match over Colton Miller (Des Lacs) for championship honors.
Beulah-Hazen wasn’t done piling up the champion honors at the tournament. Tyler Erickson (152) and Alex Barbion (195) added champion honors as well. Erickson started the tournament with two strong early showings – a 10-2 major over Bradley Lawson (Velva) and a 14-7 win over Brady Irmen (Velva).
Erickson wouldn’t have the same ease in the championship finals. Erickson faced Kyle Cook (Watford City) and came away with a hard earned 4-3 win for champion honors.
Alex Barbion’s path to the championship should have been called the path of least resistance. Barbion’s first three matches didn’t even last 15 seconds each. The junior cut through his first three matches – pinning Jack Wilhelmi (Stanley) in 13 seconds, Cole Berg (Mondak Thunder) in 10 seconds and Rusty Ethridge (New Town) in 8 seconds.
Barbion couldn’t finish off the tournament with pins but he did earn an 11-6 championship win over Justin Helseth (Velva).
Hunter Fritz (132) advanced to the championship round with a 4-2 win over Walter Winkler (Des Lacs), but couldn’t figure out a way to win his championship match. Fritz was pinned by Jeseb Mogen (Velva) in 1:18, which ended Fritz’s day.
Damian Eslinger (170) also struggled in the finals. Eslinger got to the finals with two pins – Caden Schatz (Dickinson JV) in 3:26, and Cody Ruden (Stanley) in 1:33.
The championship was tougher. Carsen Canfield (Tioga/Ray) pinned Eslinger in 1:18, ending Eslinger’s day with second place honors.
The only other Beulah-Hazen wrestler to make the finals was Denzel Sanders (220). Sanders won his first two matches by pin. Sanders pinned David Johnson (New Town) in 1:01, and Garrett Hoelscher (Stanley) in 5:43.
Sanders suffered a loss to Region 4 rival Jake Belland (Watford City) in the finals. Sanders couldn’t get his offensive attack going and suffered an 8-0 loss.

The Weather Network