January 13, 2016

Beulah-Hazen wrestling places 4 in Bismarck

By Jarann Johnson

The Bismarck Rotary tournament is one of the biggest tournaments of the season and coming away with placers at the tournament is tough. Last week the Beulah-Hazen Hazen Wrestling team took 14th out of 31 teams with 86.5 points.
B-H was led by four tournament placers in the tournament which featured schools from Class A, Class B, Montana and South Dakota. Jeremy Leintz, junior, had a strong day at 113.
Leintz opened the tournament with a first round bye and drew TJ Morrison (Rapid City Central) in the second round. The out of state competition didn’t surprise Leintz and he won the match with a 3 minute and 46 second pin.
The South Dakotans kept coming for Leintz and he drew Chauncey Goethals (Aberdeen Central). Once Again Leintz came through, using perfect defense in a 2-0 win.
South Dakota finally caught up win Leintz in the tournament semifinals. Leintz was pinned by William Turman (Pierre) in 3:59. Turman went on to take runner-up in the class. Ryan Ripplinger (Bismarck High) won the tournament.
The loss to Turman sent Leintz to the consolation bracket where he would finally face one of his own statesmen. Leintz topped Parker Larson (Valley City) 9-5 to earn a berth in the third place match.
Leintz’s final match of the tournament was against out-of-stater Travis Kinn (Glendive Dawson County). Kinn earned a pin in 4:04 to claim third and Leintz finished with fourth place honors.
Alex Barbion, 195, also reached the third place match for Beulah-Hazen. Barbion started the first two rounds of the tournament out with pins.
Barbion pinned Justin Meyer (Dickinson) in 5:31 and followed by pinning James Detlefs (Rapid City Central) in 3:14 in the second round.
Barbion couldn’t keep his pin streak alive in the tournament quarterfinals. Chase Teiken (West Fargo) edged out a 7-4 win over Barbion. The loss sent Barbion to the consolation bracket.
Barbion started a new pin streak during consolation wrestling by pinning four consecutive wrestlers. Barbion topped Jaden Oestern (Valley City) in 1:43 and followed with a 4:15 take down of Justin Meyer (Dickinson).
Justin Bergquist (Bismarck) tried to end the streak but was no match for Barbion. Barbion won the match with a 2:28 pin.
In the third place match Barbion matched up with Teiken again. Teiken didn’t duplicate his early tournament success against Barbion.

The Weather Network