February 6, 2013

Emergency volunteers honored

By Michael Johnson, Editor

The community of Washburn has a lot to be proud of in the men and women who assembled for the annual Washburn Emergency Services Banquet on Saturday. Many of the present and past members of the ambulance, fire department, rescue squad, rural boards, and law enforcement gathered to be honored and to thank each other for the strong working relationships. Each of the volunteer groups shared about new items and achievements of their members. First up was Clayton Verke to talk about the fire department. The Washburn Fire Department had 15 runs to attend to last year, the same as the previous year. They also assist the ambulance on their runs in order to help with lifting. The following members were honored for their time on the department: Geremy Olson, five years; Todd Isaak, 10 years; Jack Zent, 20 years. New members included Noelle Kroll, Brennan Price and Cody Fettig.

The Weather Network