June 20, 2018

Write-in races draw

Who will be filling seats on Washburn and Wilton boards remains to be seen, as final election results show a tie in write-in votes for several open positions.
Former city commissioner and candidate in January’s special commission president election Derek Laning took nine write-in votes for Washburn City Commissioner, with Mike Herdt receiving the same number. Kollin Syverson, who was on the ballot for Washburn’s other open city position, received 235 votes and a spot on the board.
Things were also foggy in in determining the result of Wilton races, where a single vote will put write-in candidates on a city, park or sales tax board.
There was a four-way tie for one of two Wilton City Commission spots, with Don Weible, James Tooke, Paul Bartholomew and Carrol Dewing each taking a single vote in last week’s election. Incumbent John Clausen took the other open seat with seven votes.
With two candidates running for three positions on the Wilton Park Board, there was also room for a write-in candidate in that race. Earning a single vote a piece in the race were Trevor Leidy, Nicole Anderson and Robyn Spitzer. Incumbents Lisa Jenkins and Nicole Schurhamer each took nine votes and reclaimed their spots on the park board.

The Weather Network