June 6, 2018

Write-ins to fill empty spots

Seven commission and board positions look to be determined by write-in come Tuesday, with Washburn and Wilton each set to see gaps on the ballot in the upcoming election.
Kollin Syverson has filed candidacy for one of two open spots on the Washburn City Commission, which sees Keith Jacobson and Reese Boehm stepping down this year. Syverson is running for a four-year term and is the only individual running for Washburn’s city board.
Wilton’s City Commission also has a gap on the ballot, with two incumbents running for the three available positions. City Commission President LeeAnn Domonoske-Kellar is seeking re-election, as is commissioner John Clausen. Joel Middaugh will not be running for re-election and no individuals filed candidacy to vie for the open seat.
Wilton will also be looking for a write-in to fill an unclaimed position on the Sales Tax and Use Commission, which has three open spots and only two candidates on the ballot. Bernard Schafer and James Porter are each running for re-election, with a third position open.
The city’s final surprise will come in the results of the park board election, in which two individuals are campaigning for three positions. Lisa Jenkins and Nicole Schurhamer are running for another term, but a third seat is without a candidate on the ballot.

The Weather Network