November 22, 2016

Roughrider awards banquet

Sports Writer
All sports came together on Thursday Nov. 18 at Wilton-Wing High School to honor the athletes who have put in their time for fall sports.
Vicky Bender started the night thanking all the coaches and athletes for their dedication to the programs and she was followed up by Laura Tweeten and Nathan Stamstad for cross country.
They would honor their teams with praise as the girls would place fifth out of 47 teams while the boys placed eleventh out of 49 teams at the state meet.
Denny Neustel earned the award for hardest worker, bringing his hard hat every day to practice. Ezra Vogel received the Horizon award for making strides by not yet going to the top of mountain of his full potential. Ben Frederick cut a lot of his time this year, making him the recipient of the most improved. MVP would go the heralded sophomore Coltan Hyttinen, as his coach stated that he had to train alone most of the season due to his abilities were unmatched by the other runners on the team. Eighth-grader Trevor Kershaw would earn the coveted rookie of the year award to round out the awards on the boy’s side.

The Weather Network