January 8, 2009

NDFU members elect Vice President Barth

Blooms are Farm Family of the Year, NDFU Press release, edited

More than 800 North Dakota Farmers Union members tackled policy issues, held state office elections and learned more about the state’s growing energy industry at the organization’s annual convention, held in Bismarck on Dec. 12 and 13. During the elections, Elwood "Woody" Barth of Solen, currently the District 5 director, was elected as NDFU vice president, succeeding Richard Schlosser, Edgeley. Schlosser retired this year after serving NDFU January 1997. The county leaders in District 5 will meet to choose someone to complete Barth’s term. North Dakota Farmers Union’s state board of directors is elected by members in seven districts. Director terms are for two years. Barth was challenged by Marcy Svenningsen, Valley City, who is a director for District 7. Other district directors are Terry Borstad, Cando, District 1; Jon Erickson, Minot; District 2, who replaces Bob Finken, Douglas, who chose not to run for re-election; Dennis Stromme, Zahl, District 3; Bob Kuylen, South Heart, District 4; and Ellen Linderman, Carrington; District 5.

The Weather Network