October 23, 2008

Election is just around the corner

Election is just around the corner

Voters will go to the polls Nov. 4, charged with casting their vote to decide who will lead the country, state and local district for the next few years.

District 4 features a three-person race for two seats in the North Dakota House of Representatives. The three include incumbent Kenton Onstad, D-Parshall, and newcomers Tom Conklin, D-Garrison and Daryl Lies, R-Garrison. Sen. John Warner, D-Ryder, is running unopposed.

District 8 features races for both the Senate and House seats. Vying for the senate seat will be incumbent Layton Freborg, R-Underwood, and challenger Wes Weible, D-Turtle Lake. Four candidates will be seeking two seats in the House. Incumbents Jeff Delzer, R-Underwood, and Dwight Wrangham, R-Bismarck, are being challenged by Audrey Boe Olsen, D-Turtle Lake, and Ken Baker, D-Coleharbor

Incumbent Ron Krebsbach, Garrison, is running unopposed to represent the 2nd County Commission District. Voters in District 8 will also vote for a supervisor for the South McLean Soil Conservation District. The lone candidate is Myron Lick.


Along with their counterparts across North Dakota, voters will also choose a governor as well as other statewide officials. Two-term Republican incumbent John Hoeven is seeking an unprecedented third term as head of the state. Hoeven of Bismarck is being challenged by Democrat-NPL candidate Tim Mathern of Fargo. Other state races include State Auditor where GOP incumbent Robert (Bob) Peterson is being challenged by Dem.-NPL candidate Daryl Splichal. Republican incumbent Kelley Schmidt is seeking another term as state treasurer. She is being challenged by Dem. NPL candidate Mitch Vance.

Republican Adam Hamm, who took over the helm for Jim Poolman about two years ago as Insurance Commissioner, is running against Dem. NPL choice Jasper Schneider. Vying for the one seat up for grabs on the Public Service Commission will be Dem. NPL Cheryl Bergian and the GOP choice Brian Kalk.

The no party ballot includes one race and five uncontested contests. Long-time Superintendent of Schools Wayne Sanstead is being challenged by Max Laird.

On the ballot for Justice for the Supreme Court is Mary Maring. Daniel Crothers is seeking an unexpired four-year term as justice to the Supreme Court. David Reich is seeking to be the district court judge for the South Central Judicial District #1. Gail Hagerty is running for judge of the District Court South Central Judicial District judgeship #6. Thomas Schneider is the lone candidate for judge of the District Court South Central Judicial District Judgeship #7. Donald L. Jorgensen is on the ballot as judge of the District Court South Central Judicial District Judgeship #8.

Voters from around the state will also choose between Democratic-NPL incumbent Earl Pomeroy and Republican challenger Duane Sand for the lone North Dakota seat as representative to the U. S. Congress. This will be the second time Sand has squared off against Pomeroy,

The Weather Network