December 15, 2011

Freborg to quit after 26 years in Senate

Freborg to quit after 26 years in Senate
Anderson, Laning likely candidates
A veteran legislator and chairman of the Senate Education Committee for 20 years, Republican Layton Freborg of Underwood, announced Wednesday that he will not be seeking re-election.
   Freborg will finish his current four-year term on Dec. 1, 2012. He is currently serving on the Natural Resources and Administrative Rules interim committees.
Howard Anderson Jr. of Turtle Lake, who has been active in the District 8 Republican Party, said at a GOP gathering at Washburn this fall that he would be a candidate for the state Senate if Freborg decided not to seek re-election.
Anderson, a former owner of a drug store in Turtle Lake, is currently the executive director of the N.D. Board of Pharmacy. He is also District V secretary-treasurer of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacies/American Academy of Clinical Psychiatrists.
Voters of District 8, which now includes Garrison and a large share of the lake area south and west of the city, will also be selecting at least one new member of the N.D. House of Representatives. Current District 8 Rep. Dwight Wrangham, R-Bismarck, became ineligible because his district was changed by legislative reapportion.

The Weather Network