November 9, 2016

Turnout one of county’s best

McLean County voters turned out in droves to vote in Tuesday’s General Election.
More than 6,000 eligible county voters cast ballots this year, either by vote-by-mail or at the polls. The total number of eligible voters is 7,988.
Incumbent County Commissioner Barry Suydam ran unopposed and was re-elected.
In local legislative contests, it was a clean sweep for incumbent Republicans in District 8. Senator Howard Anderson won as did Representatives Jeff Delzer and Vernon Laning.
The District 4 senatorial race saw GOP choice Jordan Kannianen outdistance Democratic-NPL challenger Tyler Stafslien. The seat was previously held by Republican Glen Froseth.
On the District 4 House side, Democratic-NPL incumbent Kenton Onstad returns to Bismarck. Joining him will be newcomer, Democratic-NLP’er, Cesar Alvarez.

The Weather Network