July 16, 2014

Hannegrefs team claims Prairie Scramble title



Make it two in a row for Shane Hannegrefs when it comes to winning tournaments at the Garrison Golf Course this year.

This past weekend, a team he led took home top honors at the annual Prairie Scramble. Hannegrefs also piloted the winning team in this spring’s Early Bird Scramble.

In the Prairie Scramble, Hannegrefs teamed with Todd Sherven, Daryl Engel, Kory Zook and Kelly Giffey to win the tourney by one stroke over their nearest competition. The fivesome penciled in a 120, 24 under par, for the two-day 36-hole event.

In a playoff, the team of Bill Miller, Curtis Giffey, Gerry Bernston, Mike Wilcox and Alan Lick took second place honors over the quintet of Cory Nordquist, Dick Trondson, Mike Grabow, Jake Sayler and Keith Sethen. Both teams shot 121s, 23 under, for the tournament.

Three teams, all carding 122s, battled it out for fourth place rights. In a playoff that lasted four holes, the honor went to the team of Doug Rensch, Wyat Klabunde, Blake Reinholt, Bruce Schreiner and Paul Schlichting, outlasting the fivesome of Calvin Krueger, Jay Altringer, Cory Pacheo, Ervin Flath and Bob Koelzer.

The Weather Network