October 22, 2015

Chairman’s Bowl 2015

New Town Gold retakes the trophy

By Jerry W. Kram

For a while it looked like a defensive struggle. But in the end, the 2015 Chairman’s Bowl for the championship of the Fort Berthold Elementary Football League was anything but.

The New Town Gold Team was looking to regain the trophy it lost to White Shield last year as it took on the Parshall Braves. The Braves were also looking to prove something as they came in with a 4-1 record, their lone loss coming at the hands of the New Town Gold.

It looked like the defenses would prevail as the first quarter wound down with no score. Parshall’s first drive ended in a fumble, but New Town couldn’t move the ball effectively and gave up their first chance on downs. Michael Griffin finally broke the deadlock on the last play of the first quarter with a long run to put New Town ahead 8-0.

The very next play, the first of the second quarter, Lawrence Polanco took the ball 70 yards for Parshall, but the extra point try failed and it was 8-6. New Town scored the next two touchdowns to pull away 22-6, but Polanco had another long score to close out the first half 22-12. That was as close as the Braves would get as the two teams traded long runs. In the end, the New Town Gold doubled up the Braves 56-28.

Both coaches were proud of the effort their team put out on the field.

The Weather Network