November 14, 2013

Small runners take big step

By Jerry W. Kram

New Town High School doesn’t have a monopoly on champion runners in North Dakota. Wednesday, Nov. 6, the Edwin Loe Elementary Cross Country Team had its chance to shine as they picked up their awards for the recently concluded season.

The New Town Team won the West Region Elementary Cross Country Meet held in Bismarck. New Town placed 17 runners in the top 23, led by Ariana Little Owl, who placed fifth and Jessilyn Long Feather, who placed sixth. Other finishers were Danica Paul, Kaitleigh Brady, Emma Wheeling, Xaria Bell, Davien Owns Pipe, Sophie Knight, Malia Mendoza, Cadence Bracklin, Ivy Fox, Ariell Hoaby, Alexis Clairmont, Vivica Paul, Gus Youngbird, Thunder Rabbithead Bracklin and Essence Rabbithead Bracklin. Runners receiving participation awards were Blue Star Perkins, Smell of Rain Perkins, Lucy Lahtinen, Lander Lahtinen and Zoe Fox.

Coach Arnie Grady also handed out trophies for most valuable runners. The boys awards went ot Davien Owns Pipe, Bud Bell, Silas Foote, Peyton White Buffalo, Gus Young Bird, Dante Merrile, and Breden Kerzmann. The girls awards went to Arianna Little Owl, Jessilyn Long Feather, Emma Wheeling, Roberta Chapin, Leilani Benton, Ashley Little Swallow, Alexis Clairmont, Sophie Knight, Xaria Bell, Arielle Knight, Danica Paul, Cadence Bracklin, Zoe Fox, Arielle Hoaby and Ivy Fox.

The Weather Network